The station opened on 12 October 1942 when the line was extended to Église de Pantin.
It is an underground station situated in the 19th arrondissement.
It is served by the metro line 5. The station takes its name from the river Ourcq, which is connected to the Seine by the Ourcq canal.
The corridor from the entrances is tiled in white metro-style tiles with bright coloured plastic rectangles to add some colour. The tiles are topped with green border tiles.
The station has two side platforms.
The plastic seats on the platform are red. They are fixed to grey metal arches on the ground.
The ground of the platform is painted grey.
The edge of the platform is marked with a white line and a row of knobbed tiles.
Access to the platform is from the end.
The vaulted ceiling is tiled.
The lights, which are in the Ouï-dire style, are fixed to the ceiling which brackets that look like scythes.
The light casings are red, while the brackets are silver.
The advertising is placed in red ceramic frames. They match in colour the seats and the lights. The station is lit by LED lights which emit different colours. These purple and green lights are reflected from the shiny ceiling.
A sculpture made from lime-tree wood by Thierry Grave is displayed in a showcase on the platform. The sculpture represents the joint of a fabulous animal.
The signage consists of white upper and lower case letters on a blue background.
The walls are tiled with white flat horizontal tiles.